8:00 am Traditional Service

9:30 am Family Service

Our Spiritual Identity as Evangelical Anglicans


By Evangelical, we ascribe to evangelical theologian J.I. Packer’s six distinctive of evangelicalism, which are endorsed by John Stott and Alister McGrath, all three of whom are prominent evangelical Anglicans.

  1. The supreme authority of Scripture for knowledge of God and as guide to Christian living.

  2. The majesty of Jesus Christ as incarnate God and Lord, and the savior of sinful humanity.

  3. The lordship of the Holy Spirit.

  4. The need for personal conversion.

  5. The priority of evangelism for both individual Christians and for the Church as a whole.

  6. The importance of Christian community for spiritual nourishment, fellowship and growth.

Here we see the evangelical commitment to the Bible as not only being the word of human authors but also the word of God; the unique person and work of Jesus Christ by which sinners may be justified before a holy God by putting their faith in him; the encounter with God’s Spirit who inspired the Scriptures and speaks through them; the call to personal (though not individualistic) repentance; the commission to proclaim the Gospel in all the world; and the commitment to the life of the Church. It is a set of short and simple statements but between them they define the movement well.


Anglicanism is reformed Catholicism. Thomas Cranmer, the Archbishop of Canterbury in the time of King Henry VIII, was able to bring Martin Luther’s rediscovery of justification by faith alone into the heart of the Church of England. It has since spread around the world in Anglican and Episcopal Churches and is now the third largest Christian denomination with about 77 million members.

Anglican doctrine and practice have been traditionally defined by the 1662 Book of Common Prayer and the Thirty-Nine articles, which originate in the work of Thomas Cranmer. Both are deeply rooted in the Scriptures. There is a particular respect for the teaching of the Church Fathers (i.e. the prominent Christian teachers up to about 451) and of the four ecumenical councils of the Church during that time. As Lancelot Andrews once put it in a sermon, Anglicanism has, “One canon [the Bible], reduced to writing by God himself, two testaments, three creeds, four general councils, five centuries, and the series of fathers in that period – the centuries, that is before Constantine, and two after, [that] determine the boundary of our faith.”